Johnston Islands

United States Colonies


According to findjobdescriptions, the United States has a number of smaller real colonies: American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Micronesia, Palau, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands.

The following islands are dependent on the United States: Johnston, Midway, Wake, Howland, Jarvis & Baker, and Palmira & Kingman

In November 2001, the United States conquered Afghanistan and placed Hamid Kazai in the presidential post. He, like the majority of government ministers, has US citizenship. The colonization process continued with the conquest of Iraq in April 2003.

Johnston Islands

2.6 km2 coral atoll consisting of Johnston Island and the Sand, East and North islands located about 1150 km west-southwest of Honolulu (Hawaii). The island contains an Air Force base, and its 1,000-man population is exclusively military. The base works as a depot for hydrogen bombs and poison gases. It was uninhabited when British Captain Johnston discovered it in 1807. England demanded supremacy over the island in 1858, but it was North American companies that began to exploit the island’s deposits of guano in the same year. Since 1934, it has been under the administration of the United States Navy, which does not allow civilians to approach the island. It is used inter alia for the burning of waste from chemical weapons.

Johnston Islands

Midway Islands

Circular coral atoll, which consists of the islands of Sand and Eastern totaling 5 km2 and a population of 2300 (1985) – almost exclusively military people. The islands were annexed by the United States in 1867 and are currently administered by the superpower’s navy. They are used militarily and in June 1942 they were the scene of an important naval battle between the United States and Japan during World War II.

Wake Islands

Together with the nearby islands of Wilkes and Peale, it constitutes an area of ​​6.5 km2. The population is 1600 people and predominantly military people. The atoll is located between Midway and Guam and was occupied by the United States during the war against Spain in 1898. It houses an airport that was previously used as a stopover for flights over the Pacific. Today it is used only for military purposes. The area has been under the administration of the North American Air Force since 1972. for missile tests.

Howland, Jarvis & Baker Islands

Located in the central part of Polynesia just above the equator. They were occupied by the United States in the mid-19th century and have remained uninhabited since the end of World War II. There were clearer large deposits of guano that are now depleted and on the island of Howland there is a lighthouse. The area is managed by US fisheries and nature authorities.

Palmira & Kingman Islands

The island of Palmira is a coral atoll surrounded by over 50 smaller coral islands covered by dense tropical vegetation. It was annexed by the United States during the war against Spain in 1898 and today privately owned and subject to the United States Department of the Interior. Kingman is a coral reef north of Palmira and annexed by the United States in 1922. Both islands cover a total of 7 km 2. The islands are uninhabited, but a Japanese-North American project to use them for landfill nuclear waste triggered widespread protests in the Pacific.